Broken snake

In the evening I sit here on the road divider ,on the other side of the vegetables. There are snakes of vegetables . Some are broken in their necks, so they can fit into our plastic bags. Some beetroots are waiting to bleed.

I sit on the road divider waiting for wife’s bags to fill. Three children come from behind and peep into my typing on the phone. The little girl giggles and says “uncle”, as if she caught me doing something really embarrassing.

I fold up the phone as if I am actually embarrassed. The little boy climbs the tree. The little girl holds him from slipping.

The snakes of gourds are ready. And the lady’s fingers . They are in the bag .A broken snake peeps out of the plastic bag.

Leave a Reply

